Web Wiz - Solar Powered Eco Web Hosting

  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - if x is not equal y then message else
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

if x is not equal y then message else

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
288enzo View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 28 April 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 61
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 288enzo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: if x is not equal y then message else
    Posted: 06 May 2003 at 6:43pm

I have been reading www.w3schools.com which is a great site for learning I must say, but I can find any script help on the following:

if I have two fields in my form "password" and "confirm_password", how do I make sure that what they typed into "confirm_password" is the same as the "password" field before proceeding on?

Thanks.

Back to Top
ultramods View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 08 January 2003
Location: Scotland
Status: Offline
Points: 146
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ultramods Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 May 2003 at 6:50pm

IF password = confirm_password THEN

        'put everything into database

ELSE

         'handle the error

END IF

 

Back to Top
288enzo View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 28 April 2003
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 61
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 288enzo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 May 2003 at 9:25pm

That seems very easy.  Just a few more questions.

1. Where does the above script go (form page, or posting page)?

2. 'put everything into database?  How exactly do I do that, all I know is that the html script in the form takes care of that.

3. 'handle the error?  I don't know how to do this.  I know that in MS FrontPage you can set up automatic bots to create pop ups and move the cursor to the field that is incorrect, but I don't know how to manually create this script.  Any help on this would be much appreciated.

Thanks UltraMods.

Back to Top
Gullanian View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 04 January 2002
Location: England
Status: Offline
Points: 4373
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gullanian Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 May 2003 at 1:03am

Hmm tricky and long to explain it all here......

Check out borgs inserting data into database tutorial:
http://www.webwiz.net/asp/tutorials/add_to_database.asp

You might want to use javascript to check the passwords match instead of ASP scrpting, as its faster for the user to get the error and amend it, and takes up less server processing time.

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.07
Copyright ©2001-2024 Web Wiz Ltd.


Become a Fan on Facebook Follow us on X Connect with us on LinkedIn Web Wiz Blogs
About Web Wiz | Contact Web Wiz | Terms & Conditions | Cookies | Privacy Policy

Web Wiz is the trading name of Web Wiz Ltd. Company registration No. 05977755. Registered in England and Wales.
Registered office: Web Wiz Ltd, Unit 18, The Glenmore Centre, Fancy Road, Poole, Dorset, BH12 4FB, UK.

Prices exclude VAT unless otherwise stated. VAT No. GB988999105 - $, € prices shown as a guideline only.

Copyright ©2001-2024 Web Wiz Ltd. All rights reserved.