Web Wiz - Solar Powered Eco Web Hosting

FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Web Wiz for Dummies

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Paws n Hooves View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Paws n Hooves Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Web Wiz for Dummies
    Posted: 27 December 2012 at 12:14pm
Hi All,
I'm a total Newbie Dummy  to Web Design and have lots of questions.........

Basically, I'm the president of a small, NFP (Charity) Animal Rescue group in Western Sydney (Downunder).

By default, (because the buck always stops with me), I've been made the Webmaster of a website that was built for us (years ago) using ASP ( http://www.pawsnhooves.com.au - www.pawsnhooves.com.au).

Being from 1st Class Irish and English Convict stock, I'm hoping that someone is able to throw me a lifeline to help out !

Up until now, I've been able to struggle along with Band-Aid solutions but it's got to the stage where I need to make some big changes to the site and ideally, as far as possible, I'd really like to have a CMS installed within the site to make it easier for me to make these changes.

I've downloaded Web Wiz RTE  to my local machine, but as yet, I  haven't been able to run it so I'm assuming that it can't be run locally and needs to be on a Web Server.

Obviously, my first question is....Can the RTE be used to edit HTML locally and then upload the new or modified files ?

There is also an MS Access Data Base within the site that allows our foster carers to record details of the animals that they have in their care so that we have records of vet treatments, Micro Chip and registration details etc.

For some crazy reason, when a "new" cat is entered into the Database and added to our site, their photo and other information appears randomly within one of the cat pages on the site.